About this blog: On Magic, Inspiration and Art


This is part I of the About this blog series.

To kick off this Blog, I would like to let you all know what it is about.

Part I: Inspiration

My father used to talk to me about the magic in surprising people. He said this magic defined (good) art, and it would make the piece a classic, above and beyond technological innovation and trends.

Even then I thought this valuable advice, yet did not realize how much I could empathize with it.  This matter has led me to question why do people, not designers or artists, but people, enjoy and crave creativity? Answers to this question may be different and sometimes conflicting, but the one I am at peace with is simple. People want and like to be surprised. Both being inspired and being surprised stimulate us to do and to feel things in an unexpected way. They hint at magic hidden in color and in form, in sound, touch, smell, and even taste.

This blog will explore that which now inspires me. Going back to my father, I will present here the projects and ideas I find worthwhile sharing, those that have the potential to surprise others, thanks to a good balance of innovation, design and execution.

It is a place to post sources of design inspiration, plain and simple. This includes, but is not limited to, creative projects from talented designers, thoughts on productivity and changes in the design world, art world, print, illustration, interaction, graphic design, and so on. They are the projects that with or without intent, seem to change the way the design game is played.

This is part I of my About this blog posts. I decided to split them up into two thanks to a suggestion from a friend, as the contents both speak about this blog and its content, but deal with very different sides of the coin.

What are your thoughts on this? What do you think makes for good art, or good design?

Leave a comment